Free Birthday Ice Cream: 8 Chains With a Freebie

Free birthday ice cream is the freebie with the lowest barrier: a scoop, a cone or a small cup, usually through a free account. This roundup collects the frozen-dessert deals in ClaimCake's verified data, including custard, Italian ice and frozen yogurt, and flags where a reward is a discount rather than a free item. All details were last verified 2026-11-06. Offers change, and the brand's own page is the final word.

The ice cream shops

Cold Stone Creamery

Cold Stone Creamery gives a free Cold Stone creation through a free My Cold Stone Club account. It is one of the few with a stated lead time of 7 days. The reward loads 7 days before your birthday and the window runs from 7 days before to 7 days after, so you get roughly two weeks. It is one per year, and no purchase is required.

Baskin-Robbins

Baskin-Robbins gives a free scoop to members of its Birthday Club through a free Baskin-Robbins account. Rewards enrollment is not required. The official FAQ confirms the scoop, but the page does not state the window, lead time or purchase rule, so check the account.

Carvel

Carvel offers a free small cone or cup through a free Fudgie Fanatics membership. ClaimCake's data comes from the sign-up page text, and the window and terms were not read. Confirm them in the app.

Andy's Frozen Custard

Andy's Frozen Custard gives a free small cake cone through a free #FANdys Loyalty app account. The cone appears at the start of your birthday month, remains available through the month, and expires 30 days after it is issued. You must provide your date of birth. The purchase rule is not stated.

Marble Slab Creamery

Marble Slab Creamery offers a free cookie cake slice or small ice cream through a free rewards account that it shares with Great American Cookies. It is valid on your birthday only, in store only, and no purchase is required. An archive page says old birthday rewards did not migrate, so set up the account fresh.

Great American Cookies

Great American Cookies has the same cookie cake slice or small ice cream choice. It is in store only, and the terms page mentions a $10 minimum purchase that the rewards page does not repeat, so ask before you order.

Italian ice and frozen yogurt

Rita's Italian Ice

Rita's gives a free small Italian ice through its app. You must supply your birth month and year at registration, and verification is by QR, email or phone. The reward is valid for 7 days after issue. Seasonal shops also offer a half-birthday version for Oct-Feb birthdays. It is one per year, and not every shop participates.

Yogurtland

Yogurtland is the one to read carefully. The marketing page says free birthday treat, but the terms give dollar-off tiers: up to $5 off Signature, $6 off Premium and $7 off Ultimate. That makes it a discount rather than a guaranteed free cup. Redemption is by email notice over about four weeks, once per calendar year.

Soft serve from burger chains

Two meal chains include frozen treats in their birthday choices. Burger King lists soft serve among its free birthday items, and you need 1+ eligible transaction in the prior 12 months with your birthday set 7+ days ahead. Del Taco offers a free shake at lower tiers with a purchase. For more of these, see free birthday meals and free birthday desserts.

Quick comparison in words

  • Longest window: Andy's, which is all of your birthday month.
  • Shortest window: Marble Slab, your birthday day only.
  • Earliest start: Andy's, at the start of your birthday month. Cold Stone loads 7 days before your birthday.
  • Clear no-purchase listings: Cold Stone, Marble Slab and Rita's.
  • Purchase attached: Great American Cookies.
  • Discount, not free: Yogurtland.
  • Unstated in the data: Baskin-Robbins, Carvel and Andy's purchase rules.

Planning around the windows

Ice cream rewards differ most in timing. Rita's gives 7 days, Andy's gives 30 days from issue, and Marble Slab gives one day. If you want to collect several, start with the narrowest window and work outward. Our birthday month vs birthday week guide explains why the windows vary, and the freebie itinerary shows how to line them up across one day.

Frequently asked questions

Which ice cream chain has the longest birthday window?

Andy's Frozen Custard, where the cone is available all birthday month and expires 30 days after issue.

Is Yogurtland's birthday treat really free?

Not necessarily. Its terms list up to $5 off Signature, $6 off Premium and $7 off Ultimate. The marketing page says free.

Do I need to buy something at Cold Stone?

The data marks purchase as not required. It is one per year, and the reward loads 7 days before your birthday.

Can I redeem Rita's online?

The data only describes the in-app reward with QR, email or phone verification. Not all shops participate, so check yours.

Get your scoop

Choose two or three of these, create the accounts, and put the redemption dates on your calendar. Browse every offer on the ClaimCake deals page. Check the brand's page before you go, since terms can change after 2026-11-06.

Deals mentioned in this guide

More guides

Never miss a claim window

Add your family's birthdays and get an email 7 days before each one.

Track birthdays