How We Verify Birthday Deals: Our Method, Step by Step

Birthday freebie lists are everywhere, and many of them recycle the same claims. ClaimCake publishes only verified birthday freebies, and this page explains exactly what that means. If you want to know how much to trust a listing, here is the method, the numbers, and the limits.

The short version

Every offer on ClaimCake is based on the brand's own official pages. We record what that page says, note where it is unclear, and leave off anything we cannot confirm. The whole database is re-checked every month on the 1st. The current count is 47 verified deals out of 93 researched chains. The other 46 are still unverified, so they are not shown on the site.

The database was last verified 2026-11-06. Offers change, and the brand's own page is always the final word.

Step 1: Start from the brand's own page

We begin with the brand's official website: a rewards page, a help article, an FAQ, or a terms and conditions page. Roundups and news articles can point us to a brand, but they are not the source for the offer. Some records list a secondary page as "also seen," which tells us where a claim appeared elsewhere, but the official page is what we cite.

Each deal page links to the source we used, so you can read the original yourself. For example, Starbucks points to the program terms and Chick-fil-A points to an official help article.

Step 2: Record the same fields every time

For every offer we capture a fixed set of fields.

  • Offer: what you actually get.
  • Window: when it is valid, such as a birthday day, a week, or the whole month.
  • Signup: the account or membership required.
  • Lead time: how many days before your birthday you need to join.
  • Proof needed: the app, an account, or something else.
  • Purchase required: yes, no, or not stated.
  • Limits: one per year, minimum spend, in-store only, and similar conditions.
  • Source URL: the page we read.
  • Date verified: when we last checked.

A fixed set of fields keeps listings comparable, and it makes gaps visible. Several records also note that they were confirmed from official-domain page text, such as search excerpts and terms, rather than a full page read.

Step 3: Say what the page does not say

If a page is silent on something, we record it as not stated rather than guessing. Baskin-Robbins is an example: its official FAQ confirms a free scoop for Birthday Club members, but the window, lead time, and purchase rule are not stated on the page. Peet's Coffee lists a free birthday drink, with the window and conditions deferred to terms that we did not read in full.

That is why you will sometimes see a deal page with several blanks. A blank means the page left it open, and we would rather show a gap than invent an answer.

We also note when the evidence has limits. Some records flag that a full page could not be fetched, as with Sephora, where the in-store minimum and exact signup lead time were not confirmed. Others note when pages conflict, as with California Pizza Kitchen, where older pages disagree on which tier gets the free entree.

Step 4: Keep only verified birthday freebies

If we cannot confirm an offer from the brand's own page, it does not go on the site. This is the main reason the numbers look the way they do: 93 chains researched, 47 verified, and 46 still unverified and hidden. The unverified group is not a list of bad deals. It is a list of brands whose offers we could not yet confirm to our standard.

This also means the site is missing brands you may know. If a favorite is not listed, it has not passed verification yet, and that tells you nothing about whether the brand has a program.

Step 5: Re-check every month on the 1st

Offers change quietly. A reward gets renamed, a minimum spend appears, or a program ends. To catch this, the whole database is re-checked every month on the 1st, and the verification date on each record is updated.

Some pages are older than others, and our notes say so. El Pollo Loco is recorded with a source about ten months old, and Great American Cookies has a terms page dated 9/17/24 that does not repeat its $10 minimum on the rewards page. We show those details because they affect how much weight you should give a record.

What verification does not mean

Verified does not mean guaranteed. It means that at the time we checked, the brand's page described the offer the way we recorded it. A few things we cannot promise:

  • That every location participates. Most records say "participating" locations.
  • That the offer will be unchanged next week.
  • That your account will qualify, since many offers have prior-purchase or tier rules.

If something on a deal page differs from what the app or the cashier tells you, the brand's current terms win.

How to get the most from the data

Frequently asked questions

How many deals are verified?

46 deals are currently verified, out of 92 chains researched. The other 46 are unverified and are not shown.

How often is the data re-checked?

The whole database is re-checked every month on the 1st. The current records were last verified 2026-11-06.

Where does the information come from?

From each brand's own official pages. Every deal page links to the source URL that was used.

What if a deal page is out of date?

Offers change, and the brand's own page is the final word. If you see a difference, trust the brand's current terms.

See what passed

Browse every verified offer, each with its source link, at ClaimCake.

Deals mentioned in this guide

More guides

Never miss a claim window

Add your family's birthdays and get an email 7 days before each one.

Track birthdays